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General Information

= Anagency must follow the law passed by the General Assembly that sets out the process for creating,
amending, or repealing a regulation. The law is the Administrative Process Act (& 2.2-4000 et seq. of the
Code of Virginia).

= Three basic steps take place to create, amend, or repeal a regulation.

= Typically, regulatory actions take about 18-24 months from start to finish.

Basic Steps

Step 1- Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA)

The notice informs the public that a regulatory change is being considered, along with a description of the
changes being considered. Once the NOIRA is published in The Virginia Register of Regulations, there is at
least a 30-day period during which the agency receives comments from the public. The agency reviews
these comments as it develops the proposed regulation.

Step 2 - Proposed regulation

The new, amended, or repealed regulation; a statement explaining the basis, purpose, substance and
issues of the regulatory action; an Economic Impact Analysis (EIA) prepared by the Department of Planning
and Budget (DPB); the agency response to the DPB EIA; and an agency contact person are published in the
Virginia Register. & 60-day public comment period begins upon publication of the proposed regulatory
action in the Virginia Register. The agency may make changes to the proposed regulation based on
comments received during the public comment period.

Step 3 - Final regulation

The new, amended, or repealed regulation is published in the Virginia Register. Any change to the text of the
regulation since the proposed regulation was published is highlighted by brackets that surround the
changed language. A 30-day waiting period takes place before the regulation becomes effective.

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he objects, forward his objection to
the Registrar and the agency. In addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General
Assembly session. The Governor's objection or suspension of the regulation, or bath, will be published in
the Virginia Register. If the Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have substantial
impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on the changes.
Motice of the additional public comment period will be published in the Virginia Register.

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it receives requests from 25 or more
individuals to solicit additional public comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor
or inconsequential impact.

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any time before it becomes effective.



