

Virginia Department Of Labor And Industry Labor Law Division

Minimum Wage Increases to \$9.50 per hour Effective May 1, 2021

Tipped Employees

Tips plus wages must now meet Virginia's minimum wage of \$9.50 per hour

Beginning May 1, 2021, training

wages may be increased

The complete training wage regulation is available on the Virginia Town Hall website , <u>https://townhall.virginia.gov/</u> Training Wages:

- Applies to employees younger than 20 years of age
- Is restricted to the first 90 days of employment

Some employees previously exempt *may now be covered as eligible employees*.

These include:

- Domestic Service Services related to the care of an individual in a private home or the maintenance of a private home or its premises
 - May be on a permanent or temporary basis
 - Includes services such as companions, cooks, waiters, butlers, maids, valets, and chauffeurs
- Home care providers
- Babysitters who work more than 10 hours per week

For More Information, please visit :

- VA LIS: <u>https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?</u> 201+sum+SB7
- VA definitions: <u>http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title40.1/</u> <u>chapter3/section40.1-28.9/</u>
- VA min wages: <u>http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title40.1/</u> <u>chapter3/section40.1-28.10/</u>
- FLSA: <u>https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/29/chapter-8</u>

Questions? Contact the Labor Law Division

Phone: 804-786-2706 Fax: 804-371-6524 E-mail: laborlaw@doli.virginia.gov Website: <u>https://www.doli.virginia.gov/</u>