

BOILER SAFETY INTERPRETATION/TECHNICAL LETTER BSI07

MEMORANDUM

TO: All Authorized Inspection Agencies and Supervisors

- FROM: Fred P. Barton, Director/Chief Inspector Boiler Safety Compliance Program
- SUBJECT: Boiler Safety Plans for 1998
- DATE: December 30, 1997

Boiler Safety has made some changes recently that we need to share with you. In 1998 there are some more changes brewing that we need to make you aware of. All of these changes will effect your inspection operations in Virginia.

- A. Enclosed find the revised Virginia BPV-5 Form First Internal Inspection. The form was revised to:
 - a. Simplify form by eliminating space for reporting non-standard equipment.
 - b. Expand checklist to cover controls and other items which need to be checked as part of the installation requirements or Virginia unique rules.

The Virginia BPV-5 Form should be used to register all new equipment with this office effective January 30, 1998.

B. We are finding a noticeable increase of multiple Virginia serial numbers (VA Numbers) on the same equipment. Efforts are under way to duplicate numbers when processing Virginia BPV-5 forms and taking action on a case by case basis. We may request the inspector to return to the site and attach a metal tag or mark appropriately with the correct Virginia Number.

We have always encouraged inspectors to call this office to obtain information about equipment and be sure equipment has not been previously registered. A call could save an additional visit.

C. Presently Delinquent Letters for overdue inspections are sent after the 60-day grace period has ended. It has been decided that owner/users have to be

informed earlier that they are subject to a penalty if their equipment is operated without a certificate inspection past the 60-day grace period. We will be sending Delinquent letters earlier with the goal of sending them the month after the present Certificate of Inspection expires. Our records indicate most certificate inspections are made within two (2) weeks of the end of grace period.

We believe sending the Inspection Report forms (NB-6) two (2) months before the expiration is plenty of time to schedule the inspections in sufficient time so that the inspection is complete within a reasonable time and the inspection report is received by this office by the certificate expiration date. Completing the next certificate inspection before the certificate expiration date and perhaps giving a copy of the inspection report to the owner/user will go a long way to help reduce the number of Delinquent letters being sent to your customers.

- It is expected that phone calls will increase significantly because of the above changes and we need to be able to handle them in a timely manner.
 Consequently, we have had to look at areas where we can consolidate our stretched resources. One area is providing print-outs of equipment to Inspectors. We have decided to no longer provide printouts of equipment at the time the inspection company notifies us via an Acceptance Notice. Printouts of the entire data base will still be available under the Freedom of Information Act at a cost of \$422.00 plus any processing fees by our Office of Legal Support.
- E. As you may know, the fee for processing Virginia Work cards will increase from \$10.00 to \$20.00 as of January 1, 1998. The 20.00 fee is for processing either initial or renewal identification cards. The \$50.00 application fee for the National Board Exam will not be changed and remains the same.

The above changes are necessary to meet our goals of 1998. We will appreciate your continued cooperation in our combined efforts to assure compliance to Virginia Rules for public safety.

If you have any questions on the above or other matters, give me a call at (804) 786-3169.

FPB/fs

Encl.