Worker Misclassification

Misclassification occurs when an employer
improperly classifies a worker as an
independent contractor.

New Policy

The Virginia Occupational
Safety and Health (VOSH)
Program conducts thousands of
occupational safety and health
workplace inspections on a
yearly basis, and starting July
1, 2015, will implement the
following policy where it has
reasonable cause to believe
that worker misclassification
has occurred in a VOSH case:

In the event that VOSH
citations and penalties are
proposed for the employer,
penalty reductions for size and
good faith will NOT be afforded
to the employer.

In construction multi-
employer worksite situations,
each contractor (e.g., general
contractors, prime sub-
contractors and lower tier sub-
contractors) will be asked to
provide proof of their
Department of Professional and
Occupational Regulation
(DPOR) contractor's license

insurance benefits.

AND for proof of the DPOR
license for any of its' sub-
contractors.

When it is determined that
a construction employer has
contracted with an unlicensed
subcontractor, VOSH will
make a written referral to
DPOR for the contractor and
its unlicensed subcontractor
(DPOR sanctions for
contracting with unlicensed
subcontractors may include
fines, probationary terms,
suspension or license
revocation).

A complete copy of the
new policy, education
materials and outreach
materials can be located
on our website at:

www.doli.virginia.gov

Worker Misclassification:

e Undermines businesses that
follow the law

e Costs Virginia millions in tax
revenue

e Denies workers legal
protections and benefits

Misclassification of workers hurts Virginia's families,
constitutes payroll fraud and denies Virginia workers
basic legal protections such as workers' compensation
coverage, family and medical leave and unemployment

Employers that misclassify workers can improperly
avoid payroll costs by up to 40%. Misclassification is a
destructive practice that hurts honest employers by
allowing unscrupulous employers to undercut the bids
of those contractors who play by the rules.

In cases where the contract
value for the specific sub-
contractor's job is less than
$1,000.00, VOSH will make a
written referral to the Virginia
Employment Commission (VEC)
and/or the Virginia Workers'
Compensation Commission
(VWCC) for potential audits of
the employer's employment
practices. Referrals may be
made for contract values over
$1,000.00 as well.
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