VOSH Programs

Report a Workplace Fatality or Severe Injury

Fatality/Accident Notifications

Virginia Code § 40.1-51.1.D requires all employers, regardless of how many individuals they employ, to report any work related incident resulting in a fatality within eight (8) hours to the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI).

If an employer does not learn of a fatality or catastrophe at the time that it occurs, and the incident would otherwise be reportable to DOLI, the employer is required by law to report the incident within 8 hours of the time that it is made known to any agent or employee of the employer.

If an employee dies as a result of the incident, the employer is required to report the death to DOLI within 8 hours of learning of the death.

How to Report – All reports are required to be made by using the link below, via telephone to the numbers listed below or in person at a DOLI office. Under no circumstances are fatality or catastrophe reports to be made by e-mail.

OSHA.gov link https://osha.gov/report.html

Reporting Inpatient Hospitalizations of One or More Persons, Amputations, or Loss of an Eye Virginia Code § 40.1-51.1.D also provides that every employer shall report to the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry within 24 hours any work-related incident resulting in (i) the inpatient hospitalization of one or more persons, (ii) an amputation, or (iii) the loss of an eye, as prescribed in the rules and regulations of the Safety and Health Codes Board.”

For more information on the VOSH Enforcement Policy, see: Virginia Enforcement Policy for New Reporting Requirements:

How to Report:  Employers can report by telephone or in‑person to the nearest VOSH Regional Office; or through the OSHA toll-free central telephone number, 1-800-321-6742:

During normal business hours (8:15 A.M. – 5:00 P.M.) an incident should be reported to the closest regional or field office at the following numbers:

804 371-3104 Office
703 392-0900 Office
757 455-0891 Office
540 562-3580 Office
276 676-5465 Office
434 385-0806 Office
540 248-9280 Office
Before or after normal business hours or on weekends and holidays, incidents can be reported by calling the appropriate cell phone or pager number for the nearest office:
804 229-4666 Cell Phone
571 264-4089 Cell Phone
757 837-2017 Cell Phone
540 983-5362 Pager
540 983-5362 Pager
540 983-5362 Pager
571 264-4089 Cell Phone
If unable to reach the local phone numbers or pagers, the State Police Duty Sergeant in Richmond, VA should be contacted at 804 674-2026.