Registered Apprenticeship

Community Colleges

The Related Technical Instruction (RTI) component of the Registered Apprenticeship (RA) model is constantly changing and evolving. Our team is always working towards meeting the needs of employers to better serve them and their apprentices by sourcing RTI and highlighting full programs offered across the state. The Virginia Community College system is just one of the seven ways an apprentice can receive the RTI required to complete their program. A list of approved programs has been compiled based on the Division’s review of all 23 Community Colleges across Virginia. Because courses and schedules change each semester, we cannot guarantee an all-inclusive list, but have provided links to each school’s webpage and provided contact information. It is important for the employer/sponsor to verify the instruction offerings for their apprentices. If difficulties arise in sourcing RTI, as per usual, please contact your Registered Apprenticeship Consultant with the Department of Labor and Industry.

Community CollegesApproved Programs
Blue Ridge Community College

Kevin Ratliff
Vice President, Workforce Development
One College Lane
Weyers Cave, VA 24486
540-453-2264
Ratliffk@brcc.edu

Machining
Information Technology
Welding
Early Childhood Development


https://www.brcc.edu/

Central Virginia Community College

Francie Dye
Workforce Training Coordinator
3506 Wards Road
Lynchburg, VA 24502
4- 832-7765
dyef@centralvirginia.edu

Machining
Information Technology
Welding
Early Childhood Development


https://centralvirginia.edu/

Community College Workforce Alliance

John McGarry
Trades and Construction Coordinator
1651 East Parham Road
Richmond, VA 23228
804-523-2292
emcgarry@ccwa.vccs.edu

Diesel Mechanic
Electrical
Advance Manufacturing Technology
Information Technology
Mechanical Maintenance
Early Childhood Development


https://www.jtcc.edu/


Culinary Arts
Optician
Early Childhood Development


http://www.reynolds.edu/

 

Dabney and Lancaster Community College

Gary Keener
V.P. Workforce Development Services
1000 Dabney Drive
Clifton Forge, VA. 24422
540-863-2900
gkeener@dslcc.edu

Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVAC)
Electrical
Industrial Maintenance
Culinary Arts


http://www.dslcc.edu/

Danville Community College

Jimmie Tickle
A.V.P. Workforce Services
1008 South Main Street
Danville, VA 24541
434-797-8475
jtickle@dcc.vccs.edu

Phillip Baughman
Apprenticeship Coordinator
Workforce Services
434-797-8582
pbaughman@dcc.vccs.edu

Machining
Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVAC)
Welding
Information Systems Technology
Early Childhood Development
Auto Mechanic
AssistantAdministrative
Cybersecurity
Mechanical Maintenance
Electrical


http://www.danville.edu/

Eastern Shore Community College

Deborah Daniels
29300 Lankford Highway
Melfa, VA 23410
757-789-5927
DDaniels@es.vccs.edu

Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVAC)
ElectricalEarly Childhood DevelopmentIndustrial Technology


https://es.vccs.edu/

 

Germanna Community College

Ben Sherman
Apprenticeship Coordinator
18121 Technology Drive
Culpeper, VA 22701
540- 937-2901
bsherman@germanna.edu

Electrical
Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVAC)
Industrial Maintenance/Machinist


https://www.germanna.edu/

Lord Fairfax Community College

Sherry Pinto
OJT Grant Specialist
173 Skimisher Lane
Middletown, VA 22645
540-869-0754
spinto@lfcc.edu

Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVAC)
Construction Project Management
Mechatronics
Electrical
Plumbing
Combination Welding
Small Engine Mechanic
Cyber Security
Software Developer


https://lfcc.edu/

Mountain Empire Community CollegeTommy Clements
Dean, Applied Science & Technologies
3441 Mountain Empire Road
Big Stone Gap, VA. 24219
276-523-7431
tclements@mecc.edu
Welding
Industrial Maintenance
Information Systems
Early Childhood Development


https://www.mecc.edu/

New River Community College

Ross Matney
Workforce Training Coordinator
New River Community College
5251 College Drive
Office: Edwards Hall 211
Dublin, Virginia 24084

Automotive Analysis
Early Childhood Development


https://www.nr.edu/

Northern Virginia Community College

Melanie Stover
Director of Business Engagement
4001 Wakefield Chapel Road
Annandale, VA 22003
703- 425-5416
mstover@nvcc.edu

Information System Technology (Cyber Security)
Early Childhood Development


https://www.nvcc.edu/

Patrick Henry Community College

Rhonda Hodges
Vice President
Workforce, Economic and Community Development
Patrick Henry Community College
276-656-0256
rhodges@patrickhenry.edu

Welding
Early Childhood Development
Information Systems Technology


http://patrickhenry.edu/

Paul D. Camp Community College

Angela Lawhorne
Director of Workforce Development
P.O. Box 737
Franklin, VA. 23851-0737
757-569-6064
alawhorne@pdc.edu

Industrial Maintenance Electrical and Instrumentation
Information Technology


https://www.pdc.edu/

Piedmont Virginia Community College
Sherrie Holbrook
Program Manager Apprenticeships
501 College Drive Stultz Center
Charlottesville, VA  22902
434.961.5496 (office)
SHolbrook@pvcc.edu
Early Childhood Development
Information Systems Technology


https://www.pvcc.edu/

Rappahannock Community College

Jason E. Perry
Vice President for Workforce and Community Development
12745 College Drive
Glenns, VA 23149
804-758-6750
jperry@rappahannock.edu

Missy Folan
804- 758-6750
mfolan@rappahannock.edu

https://www.rappahannock.edu/
Southside Virginia Community College

Kelly Arnold
Apprenticeship Coordinator
200 Daniel Road
Keysville, VA 23947
434-579-7260
Kelly.arnold@southside.edu

Information Technology
Industrial Maintenance Technician
Early Childhood Development


http://southside.edu

Tom Lester
Program Developer
PO Box SVCC
Richlands, VA 24641
276- 964-7683
Thomas.lester@sw.edu

Welding
Information Systems
Early Childhood Development
Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVAC)


https://sw.edu/

Thomas Nelson Community College

Michelle Manfred
Director of Corporate Training and Apprenticeships
600 Butler Farm Rd
Suite A
Hampton, VA 23666
757-345-2855
manfredm@tncc.edu

Automotive Technology
Teacher Aid
Cybersecurity for Enterprise


https://tncc.edu/

Tidewater Community College

Karen Miller
Program Coordinator
Apprenticeship Institute
Tidewater Community College
Building C
120 Campus Drive, Suite 106
Portsmouth, VA 23701
757-822-2418
kmiller@tcc.edu

Mechatronics
Automotive Technology
Electrical
Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVAC)
Information Systems Technology (Cyber Security)


http://tcc.edu/

Virginia Highlands Community College

Robert Phillips
V.P. Workforce Development
100 VHCC Drive
Abingdon, VA. 24212
276-739-2548
rphillips@vhcc.edu

Air Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating
Electricity
Electrical Technology
Machine operator
Welding
Child Development


https://www.vhcc.edu/home

Virginia Western Community College

Sadie Remington
Apprenticeship Coordinator
Career Center 206-D
3074 Colonial Avenue SW
Roanoke, VA 24018
540-857-7333
mremington@virginiawestern.edu

Information Technology


http://www.virginiawestern.edu/index.php

 

Wytheville Community CollegeWytheville Community College
Perry Hughes
Vice President of Workforce Development and Occupational Programs
276-223-4757
phughes@wcc.vccs.edu
https://www.wcc.vccs.edu/