Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov


About DOLI

Top Performing State Logo Best State For Business Ranking Best State For Business Ranking

VOSH Programs

Regional Offices Map Lynchburg Field Office Abingdon Field Office Richmond HeadquartersRoanoke Regional Office Central Region OfficeTidewater Regional OfficeVerona Field Office NOVA Regional Office

Frequently Asked Questions: Consultation Services

  1. How do I get a consultant to come to my company?
    Send a written request for services to the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, Consultation Program, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. Or, download a request form Excel Icon (in MS Excel format)from our Web site. Save it to a temporary file, fill it out and e-mail it to or print and fax it to 804/786-8418.

  2. What is the fee for this consultation service?
    Virginia provides consultation services free of charge. Federal OSHA funds 90% of the program costs through an annual grant to DOLI. Priority for service is given to high hazard businesses with fewer than 250 employees.

  3. How long will I have to wait for consultation services?
    Small high hazard companies are given priority and can expect to receive services within 5-20 days. Those companies not considered high hazard and those that employ more than 250 employees at one site or more than 500 employees statewide may have to wait longer for services. A large number of requests from a specific area of the state could result in an increased waiting time.

  4. Will I know when the consultant will be conducting the visit?
    Yes, the consultant will call the responsible person listed on the request form and schedule an agreed upon date to conduct the consultative visit.

  5. Are there any monetary penalties attached to the hazards found by the consultant?
    DOLI consultants do not issue citations or penalties for hazards identified during visits. However, employers are required to correct these hazards. During the opening conference, the responsible party signs an agreement form stating, among other things, that all serious hazards identified during a visit will be corrected within the established time frames. Companies that do not abate the serious hazards within the agreed upon time frames can be referred to VOSH Enforcement for action.

  6. How long do I have to correct the hazards that are found?
    Time periods given to correct specific hazards vary. Anything that is of a serious nature and an imminent danger hazard needs immediate correction. Up to 45 days is given to correct a hazard so long as interim protection is provided to employees.

  7. Do consultants provide safety and health training?
    Yes, but on a limited basis. Informal training is provided for employers and employees during practically all visits conducted. Formal training can be scheduled for individual companies or groups. DOLI will sponsor a limited number of scheduled training sessions for employers/employees this year. These sessions will be posted when classes are scheduled.

  8. Are any special recognition programs available for small businesses with good safety programs?
    The Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP) through Consultation Services provides on-site assistance to help employers establish and implement good safety and health programs that reduce injuries and illnesses. Companies that meet established criteria and are approved by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry receive a SHARP Worksite flag and a certificate of recognition. These SHARP companies are also exempt from general schedule enforcement inspections for a minimum of one year. View the list of SHARP worksites.


Employment - Public Records - Disclaimer - Privacy Policy - VOSH Training - Site Map - Contact Us - Feedback - YouTube
Virginia Department of Labor and Industry - Headquarters: Main Street Centre Bldg. 600 East Main Street, Suite 207, Richmond, Virginia 23219-4101
Telephone Number - Office: 804.371.2327 TDD: Fax: 804.786.2376 - Our Hours are from 8:15 A.M. to 5:00 P.M., Monday - Friday