Virginia Child Labor Laws Enhance Driving 
Restrictions for Youth Employees
This year Child Labor Laws in the Code of Virginia were amended to provide additional driving restrictions intended to enhance the safety of minors working in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  
These restrictions can be found in the Code of Virginia § 40.1-100, and a summary of statute follows:
Generally, no child under 18 years of age shall be employed, permitted or suffered to work as a driver or a helper on an automobile, truck, or commercial vehicle.   However, children who are at least 17 years of age may drive automobiles or trucks on public roadways if the automobile or truck does not exceed 6,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, the vehicle is equipped with seat belts for the driver and any passengers, and the employer requires the employee to use the seatbelts when driving the automobile or truck. 
All driving for a 17 year-old employee is restricted to daylight hours.  The young employee must have a valid state license for the type of driving involved and have no record of any moving violations at the time of hire. 

Additionally, the young employee must have successfully completed a state-approved driver education course and the driving can not involve: (1) the towing of vehicles; (2) route deliveries or route sales; (3) the transportation for hire of property, goods, or passengers; (4) urgent, time-sensitive deliveries such as food; or (5) the transporting at any time of more than three passengers, including the employees of the employer. 

Furthermore, the driving performed by the young employee can not involve more than two trips away from the primary place of employment in any single day for the purpose of delivering goods of the employee's employer to a customer and the driving performed by the employee can not involve more than two trips away from the primary place of employment in any single day for the purpose of transporting passengers, other than employees of the employer; 

It should also be noted that the driving must only take place within a 30-mile radius of the employee's place of employment; and the driving must only be occasional and incidental to the employee's employment; and involves no more than one third of the employee's work time in any workday and no more than 20 percent work time in any work week. 

For any questions concerning the employment of youth in the Commonwealth of Virginia, please email at:  laborlaw@doli.virginia.gov or call 804-786-2386.

