Virginia Works Newsletter
October - November 2004


Spotlight on the Department’s Southwest Region

The Department’s Southwest Region covers an area that serves the counties of Alleghany, Amherst, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Buchanan, Campbell, Carroll, Charlotte, Craig, Dickenson, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Grayson, Halifax, Henry, Lee, Montgomery, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Pulaski, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Wise, and Wythe; the towns of Abingdon, Appomattox, Washington, Clifton Forge and South Boston; and the cities of Bedford, Bristol, Buena Vista, Covington, Danville, Galax, Lexington, Lynchburg, Martinsville, Norton, Radford, Roanoke and Salem.

Regional Director Jim Mann oversees the Regional Office in Roanoke and two field offices in Lyncburg and Abingdon. Businesses in this area can take advantage of Department staff who provide VOSH compliance and Labor Law enforcement, Apprenticeship information, and Voluntary Consultation services.

The Region has investigated or has under investigation a total of 17 fatalities from 10/01/03 through 9/30/04. Four of the fatal accidents were in general industry, while the remaining 13 were in construction related businesses. For further information about the Southwest Region, go to the Department’s updated web site address,


return to top | return to previous page
Last Updated: Thursday, October 21, 2004 10:00 AM